Milestone

Today, I passed the 50,000-word mark in “If Wishing Would Make It So.” For reference, the average non-sci-fi/fantasy book is 70K-90K words. The goal is the have the rough draft completed by the end of the month. I think I can make it. Then the first edit begins. That can add tens of thousands of words… or remove them. Above is a photo of an amulet like I envision for this story of magical fiction. Here’s a short blurb for the story:

Unbeknownst to Mia Rivers, the necklace she inherited from her beloved great-grandmother grants the wishes of the wearer, but not always in the way she intended creating havoc and upending the perfect world Mia has tried so hard to construct for herself and everyone else.

Stay tuned!

Published by Donna Black - Author

Writer of magical realism, women's fiction, Wild Things natural history articles/blog, poetry, and more. Author of Risk Tolerance, The Memory Editor, Rain and Wind, Lucid Dreams, I Want to Write, But..., and other novels I hope to have available soon. University of Tennessee grad. Nature girl. Tea drinker. Pet philanthropist. Recovering real estate developer.

Leave a comment